Uber says it’s not tracking your location for more than 5 minutes after your ride

/ by / Tags: , , , , , , ,

Image: getty likeness

Uber’s short-lived experimentation with self-driving cars in San Francisco isn’t the only thing that’s freaking out its consumers. The app recently invited polemic after it changed how its location-tracking works.

Prior to the update, consumers could elect two location-tracking options: “Never” and “When employing the app.” But after the update, users noticed the latter was replaced with “Always, ” leading many to fear Uber’s transgressing with collecting place data even when the app’s not in use.

Uber disputes any ill-intentions. According to the company’s website, the app only collects a user’s orientation data “from the time of trip request through five minutes after the trip-up points, including when the app is in the background.”

The ride-hailing fellowship says the five-minute tracking after a journey is done “to improve pickups, drop-offs, customer service, and to intensify safety.”

Naturally, Uber consumers are speaking out about what the hell is feel is unnecessary tracking. Despite Uber saying the app only tracks orientation for five minutes after a go, some users reported the app was still tracking their location long after. In some occurrences, daytimes and weeks after not having used the app, and long after purging it from participate in the background.

After an investigation, an Uber spokesperson told TechCrunch , their own problems has to do with iOS and the Maps extension feature that was added in September. In simplest expressions, the propagation lends greater integration with Apple Maps and lets users call an Uber car from right within the app.

For people who choose to integrate ride sharing apps with iOS Maps, spot data must be shared in order for you to request a travel inside the Maps app, ” an Uber spokesperson told TechCrunch . “Mapextensions are disabled by default and you can choose to turn them on in your iOS settings.

In other texts, if you’ve got the extension enabled to work with Apple Maps( a nice convenience ), the app needs to constantly compile your spot in order to accurately work.

But don’t you worry. Though Uber and other ride-sharing apps like Lyft have their propagations disabled by default, you can easily become them off if you’re worried about any potential location-tracking abuse. Get to Settings> Maps > and then under Extensions , switch off off Uber .

At the very least , now you can rest easy knowing Uber isn’t spying on your late night Burger King runs.

Read more:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *